10th Annual Asian American Engineer of the Year Award



Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Chenming Calvin Hu

Chair Professor of Microelectronics University of California, Berkeley

ebruary 26, 2011

Hilton Seattle Airport & nference Center

> 2011 AAEOY Executive Committee of Seattle

Dr. Chenming Calvin Hu is the TSMC Distinguished Chair Professor of Microelectronics in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at University of California, Berkeley. He serves on the board of SanDisk Corp. and the nonprofit Friends of Children with Special Needs. From 2001 to 2004 he was the Chief Technology Officer of TSMC, world's largest dedicated integrated circuits manufacturing company. Previously he was the board chairman of the nonprofit East Bay Chinese School, Oakland, CA. and the founding chairman of Celestry Design Technologies until it was acquired by Cadence Design Systems in 2002.

A renowned researcher, he authored four books and 800 research papers and is honored with membership in several national academies -- the US National Academy of Engineering, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Academia Sinica. He is a fellow of the IEEE and the Institute of Physics and an Honorary Professor of CAS Microelectronics Institute, and National Chiao Tung University. He received UC Berkeley's highest honor for teaching -- the Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award. The 2009 SRC Aristotle Award recognized him as an influential and caring mentor of many outstanding research students.

IEEE called him a microelectronics visionary when presenting to him the Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal for research leading to small, reliable, and high-performance electronics. His other awards include the IEEE Jack A. Morton Award for contributions to transistor reliability and the DARPA Most Significant Technological Accomplishment Award for co-developing FinFET. FinFET is a promising post-2013 MOSFET structure has set new world record of the smallest transistor. He received the IEEE Solid State Circuits Award for the BSIM transistor model. BSIM is the first industry standard for integrated circuits simulation and has been used in designing IC products with cumulative sales of many hundred billion dollars. His inventions have received over 100 US patents.





Previous Recipients of AAEOY Special Awards

Leo Esaki, Nobel Prize Winner, Physics Arun Netravali, former Bell Labs President Cheng-Lin Tien, Chancellor of UCB Samuel Ting, Nobel Prize Winner, Physics Steven Chu, Nobel Prize Winner, Physics Yuan-Cheng Fung, Prof. of UCSD Y-T Lee, Nobel Prize Winner, Chemistry Daniel Tsui, Nobel Prize Winner, Physics Albert Y.C. Yu, former SVP of Intel