Chenming Hu

CV of Chenming Hu


  • B.S., EE, National Taiwan University, 1968
  • M.S./Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1970/1973


  • 1973-1976: Assistant Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1976-Present: Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, Univ. of California, Berkeley
  • 1996-2002: Founding Chairman, Celestry Design Technologies
  • 2001-2004: Chief Technology Officer, TSMC (Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company)
  • Member of Board of Directors of Sandisk, Inphi, Ambarella, ACM Research, East Bay Chinese School (Chairman 1988-1990) , Friends of Children with Special Needs (Chairman 2015-2017)


  • Six books
  • Over 1000 published research papers
  • Over 100 granted US patents



  • US National Medal of Technology and Innovation presented by President Obama, 2016
  • Taiwan Presidential Science Prize, 2023
  • Medal of Honor, IEEE’s highest honor, 2020
  • Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award, UC Berkeley’s highest honor for teaching, 1997

    Academy Membership:

  • US National Academy of Engineering, 1997-
  • Academia Sinica, 2004-
  • Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2007-
  • The World Academy of Sciences, 2012-
  • US National Academy of Inventors, 2015-

Honorary Doctoral Degrees:

  • Honorary Doctor of Science Degree, University of Hong Kong, 2021
  • Honorary Doctoral Degree, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan, 2012

Other Honors for Technology Innovations:

  • Berkeley International House Global Impact award, 2024
  • IET JJ Thompson Medal, 2019
  • Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame, 2016
  • ITRI Fellow for “extraordinary contributions to Taiwan’s high-tech industry”, presented by the President of Taiwan, 2016
  • SEMI Award for “BSIM families of compact transistor models”, 2015
  • EDA Industry Consortium Phil Kaufman Award, 2013
  • Outstanding Alumni Award, National Taiwan University, 2012
  • ISDRS Aldert van der Ziel Award for “a distinguished career in education and research”, 2011
  • Semiconductor Industry Association University Research Award for “contributions to the semiconductor industry and the US economy”, 2011
  • Asian American Engineer of the Year (AAEOY), 2011
  • IEEE Nishizawa Medal for “exceptional contributions in IC device scaling, modeling, and reliability”, 2009
  • IEEE Solid State Circuits Award, 2003
  • DARPA Most Outstanding Technical Accomplishment Award for the “radically innovative” FinFET, 2000
  • IEEE Jack Morton Award, 1997
  • R&D100 Award for BSIM as one of the most significant new technologies of 1996
  • SRC inaugural Research Excellence Award for IC reliability simulator, 1992
  • Design News Excellence in Design Award for IC reliability simulator BERT, 1991
  • IEEE Fellow for semiconductor reliability physics and models, 1989-

Honors for Education:

  • Education Award, IEEE Electron Device Society, for “distinguished contribution to education and inspiration of students, practicing engineers and future educators in semiconductor devices”, 2011
  • Berkeley Citation (for outstanding services to UC Berkeley), 2011
  • SRC Aristotle Award (for outstanding mentoring of student researchers), 2009
  • Honorary Life Professor of Chinese Academy of Science (1990-), Tsinhua University (1992-94), National Taiwan University (2011-17)
  • TSMC Distinguished Chair Professor, UC Berkeley (2001-2013)
  • Chancellor’s Chair Professor, UC Berkeley (1998-2001)
  • Moni Ferst Award, Sigma Xi (for promotion of research through education), 1998

Other Honors:

Back to Home Page